Friday Dedication #4: Twenty is a ‘C’ word.

Twenty is a ‘C’ Word

20
Not pictured: The actual Twenty Major I mean.
[Also not pictured: an actual Major box.
I scoured Internet images for days to no avail.
I considered ducking into every dodgy auld lad pub on a stroll last night to see if they sold them so I could snap on the old phone.
I’m not unconscious in hospital, so as you can guess, I thought better of it.]

I first heard of Twenty Major through whispers around town back about the time I tuned in to the once great [and soon to be again one day?] community blog TCAL.
Twenty also contributed on it, but aside from that I hadn’t bothered to check him out simply through the usual begrudging and ignorant stance we Irish adopt at the mere whiff of others’ success [think ‘c’ word]. I eventually did bother when it was reported on TCAL that he’d won ‘Most Humorous Post‘ and ‘Best Blog Post‘ for the same excellent piece at the Irish Blog Awards. It was a good one to start with.


Still not pictured: The actual Twenty Major

I started reading him daily just weeks before he quit blogging [insert ‘c’ word] and cheated us all by starting a forum absolutely littered with… the ‘c’ word [This post is not as link-tastic as it could be – i.e. I wanted to link that “‘c’ word”to a search for it in the forum but got a result saying the word in my search query was ignored because it’s too common].

Point being, I was sitting in my “Ron’s” the other night, reading Bukowski at the bar and wishing I was an important well respected writer, like him…
…or Twenty fuppin’ Major, with two books to his name, and his gimicky use of that aforementioned word.

“…cunt”, I sighed, pocketing my book.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment