“blocked writer cannot diagnose himself”

It’s happened. Just like I promised myself it wouldn’t.

Maybe it’s the few days’ absence, making the heart grow beyonder. Completely unrealistic. Fantastic.

But she’s a concept now. An idea. A (potential) sensation. Not the physical person I’d been getting to know and keeping on a level with.
Maybe it was the argument. Too.

The mental, emotional and physical distances with time and absence which has shifted, displaced the pragmatic reality of the relationship into the (un)Real.

Heavy shit for a change

We’d done well to avoid it, but it’s happened now for me. Maybe it can switch back.
We’d done well up to now to keep it sane, avoid the fantastic. Maybe we can do it again.

Maybe it’s just human nature.

[Life on Mars, in jars; on pills, in bars. Driving cars.
Freaking on SARS… swine flu.
Spills. Scars.
And so on…]

Does every ‘successful’ intimate human relationship need a phase of fantasy and need to descend into the mundane and resentful?

I really thought for a moment ours didn’t.

That’s fantastic itself I guess.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

11 Responses to ““blocked writer cannot diagnose himself””

  1. NextSeatOver Says:

    Ehhhhh.. woundn’t know luv.. don’t involve myself in those relationship thingies.. very draining on the sanity I find!!..

    • pryin Says:

      Thankfully there’s no indication of that kind of effect on me presented in plain sight here.
      Like I was saying,
      Orange claw dog never even told me in the mirror that I’d say that just as well you prompted me since it’ll make it all the better next time it rains. And you know it will. Upwardly.

  2. brothersaturn Says:

    i suppose everyone has there own cathexic enslavement policy. mine is ireland. 25 years not expressing yourself. yeh baby, now im free…….

    When the Irishman is found outside of Ireland in another environment, he very often becomes a respected man. The economic and intellectual conditions that prevail in his own country do not permit the development of individuality. No one who has any self-respect stays in Ireland, but flees afar as though from a country that has undergone the visitation of an angered Jove
    – james augustine aloysius joyce

    Irishness is not primarily a question of birth or blood or language; it is the condition of being involved in the Irish situation, and usually of being mauled by it.
    – conor cruise o’brien

    man i love that word cathexic. great post, prin. well done.

  3. brothersaturn Says:

    i know you like ireland but part of me feels youd be better off with the space unicorns

    • pryin Says:

      Quite possibly.
      I’ve yet to get my fill of ‘me roots’ and I’ve yet to have a valid reason to disembark.
      I know you’ll scoff at that and say “just go”, but I’m sure it’ll all come together when the time is right.
      For now, I’m Irish and staying here, at ‘home'(?)

  4. brothersaturn Says:

    im a dark unicorn. my left ear is made of porcelain

  5. brothersaturn Says:

    i think im gonna go now

  6. brothersaturn Says:

    like truly dissapear. to the land of seven serpents. near canada. beside a corn fig.

    ok ill be serious, ireland is grand but it just didnt do it for me. and because of this im completely fascinated by the cultural patterns inside it. the popes children, you read that? ill read it sometime when i have the time

Leave a Reply

